Confidence is vital, but so is being true to yourself.

There is one thing that everyone needs in starting any new business or career, and that’s confidence.  Something I have to admit, I am in short supply of.  My mentor is always combating this with me because although I know I have the talent to write and be successful, I don’t feel it in my heart.  I don’t know why, I just don’t.  I’ve been told by so many recently that I am a great writer, and it’s not like I don’t believe them.   I do.  I just have some almost unshakable doubts in myself that are like demons trying to suck the life out of me.

Confidence is so vital to success.  I know there are people out there with a fraction of my talent, yet because they have the confidence to put themselves out there, they have success.  So, here I sit, trying to figure out how to overcome this deficit.  My mentor once told me that there was no way I could make a potential client’s situation worse, so get out there and offer my help.  Recently, that has been sinking in for me.  I can always make a client’s problem better; I can improve the copy or provide the service necessary to make my client’s life easier.  I know I can.

Being introverted doesn’t help the situation at all.  And I know there’s this big buzz in the business world about introvert vs. extrovert.  Frankly, I think it is a matter of perspective.  I am a quiet, rather unassuming person who doesn’t excel at marketing me or putting me out there.  But, why is that a bad thing?  I just don’t like to toot my own horn, as they say.  It’s a personal preference of mine, and has a lot to do with my Christian beliefs as well.  Being humble is what a Christian is supposed to be, and I have that in abundance.

Does being humble mean that I’m not capable of being successful?  I don’t know the answer to that because I’m trying to work that out myself.  How do I market myself in a way that coincides with my spiritual beliefs?  That is the core of my problem.  I know I am to make connections and build trust with potential clients.  I understand the whole marketing thing; I just don’t know how to apply it in a way that works for me.  I’m not the “salesy” type and I never will be.  I’m just me, and basically I have the attitude of take it or leave it.  I’m not going to hype myself up to being something I’m not.  If that puts some potential clients off then it is what it is.  I want to work with people that understand that I will give the best service and write the best copy I possibly can. The quality of what I do to me is far more important than how I present myself.  It’s that simple.  All I can do is offer my best and let the quality of my work speak for me.  That’s the essence of what my marketing style is.  Am I popular on Facebook?  Ask me if I care.  Do I have a ton of followers on Twitter?  Again, ask me if I care.  I know social media is important to building my business, but the quality of my work is tantamount to my social footprint.  And that is just the way I am.

Until next time,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

