Who’s running your business…part 2.

Well, most of everything I said two weeks about niches, I take back.  I wasn’t exactly on board with the whole niche thing anyway.  I know that is what the experts say to do, narrow down a niche so you know who you are marketing to, and become an expert, yada yada.  I get the logic of it, I do; but in practice, it doesn’t work that well.  Recently I posted on Facebook about finding a client in some groups I am in, and a bunch of people went to my homepage and stopped there because it said I only work with architects and engineers.  Did I lose business over it? Possibly.  That’s what bugs me about the whole niche thing in the first place.

Someone I just met told me that it wasn’t the niche I should be concerned with, but who I wanted to work with.  Not based on gender/age, occupation, etc., but who did I want to work with.  What are their characteristics, aspirations, personalities?  That I have been doing a lot of thinking about from the beginning of starting my business; who is my ideal client?  As a VA, I want to work with entrepreneurs, solopreneurs, and small business owners to help take the administrative burden of their backs and give them more free time to work on their businesses or spend time with their families. I want to work with the no-nonsense, no drama type of people who know what they want in a VA and know how to communicate those wants in such a way that I know what they want.  Neither of us of time for guessing games, or an endless back and forth email conversation when one concise email would have done the trick.

Now I get there will be potential clients who have never worked with a VA before and are not sure what can be delegated and what can’t be.  All I can say is this, if the thing can only be answered or completed with the client’s expertise, than the client should be handling it, at least the content of it anyway.  Now, if the item on the old to-do list can be done by anyone with an administrative background or another area of expertise the item is needing, then delegate. Virtual assistants come in a variety of flavors, from the general administrative to the techie ones, and everything else in between.  There are VA’s who specialize in sales funneling, direct marketing, etc.  We run the gamut.  If you have a need that you don’t know how to do or don’t have time to do, there is a VA out there who can, guaranteed!  Now, just go find that help; Google is a good place to start.  And if I can be of help to you, contact me; I’d love to help you run your business in a more efficient and effective way.

Until next time, blessings to you all,

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

