I’m worth every penny!

Recently, I had a client lead that ended with them asking for a ridiculously low rate that was in itself insulting.  And let me explain why.  When you hire me you are hiring someone who is a vital part of your business team.  I am not an employee; I am a business owner just like you.  I have overhead costs to deal with and taxes to boot.  But what really gets me about the whole thing is that I am much more valuable than some overseas virtual administrative consultant.  Let’s start with I both write and speak English proficiently versus British English or English as a second language.  I understand the geography of the US and its colloquialisms.  I am very resourceful and tech-savvy, and there is nothing you can give me that I can’t figure out how to do.  I am a very talented, intelligent woman who will work her butt off to make your business run smoother and more efficiently.  I take care of the planning and day-to-day aspects of running your business so that you can spend the time saved growing your business or spending precious time with your family.  I give you time, is that not valuable?

All I am saying is that as a virtual administrative consultant, I am part of your team and care about your business as much as you do.  I want you to succeed, I want your business to grow, and I will do everything within my power to help make that happen.  What I want in return is the respect I deserve.  I reiterate, I am not your employee.  I am worth every penny I charge because I will give you all that I have to give.  You will be my priority.  I really don’t understand the mentality of some who think a virtual administrative consultant is some sort of personal assistant.  I am so much more.  I provide accountability, efficiency, and a logical flow to your business.  I save you money and I give you more time, both of which I would think would be of value to you.

If you’ve guessed by now that this is a rant, you’d be correct.  I am insulted to be considered so unworthy of my fee, which is a reasonable amount for the services I provide.  I am only limited by your imagination.  There is nothing I can’t do, nothing I can’t learn.  Well, almost, I don’t know anything about sales funneling, but I bet I could learn!  As a team member, I am the gateway, the second mate of the ship.  I am not in some clerical position sitting at my desk typing up letters.  Not that there’s anything wrong with that, but as a virtual administrative consultant, I am more.   I am a business owner who is a vital part of your business team; I help you run it and grow it.  I am a sounding board, a manager and an assistant all rolled into one kick-butt woman.  If you think an overseas VA is a good idea, well, good luck and remember you get what you pay for!

Leave a Reply

